KS Governor's Council on Fitness Park Trail
Green Seperator Bar

Side Menu
Menu Spacer
General Information
Menu Spacer
List of Members
Menu Spacer
Menu Spacer
Health Champion Award
Menu Spacer
Menu Spacer

Health Champion Award

As part of the effort to help Kansans improve their health, each year the Governor recognizes an individual and an organization that puts forth an exceptional effort to model, encourage, and promote fitness in Kansas.

2020 Award Winners
Andy Fry, Individual Health Champion
Redemption Plus, Organizational Health Champion

2020 Honorable Mentions
Jim Blackwell, Individual Honorable Mention
West Bourbon Elementary School, Organizational Honorable Mention

2019 Award Winners
Pastor Adrion Roberson, Individual Health Champion
The Monarch Cement Company, Organizational Health Champion

2019 Honorable Mentions
Jody Hoener, Individual Honorable Mention
City of Emporia, Organizational Honorable Mention

2016 Award Winners
Nicki Allen, Individual Champion
Chanute Recreation Commission, Organizational Champion

2016 Honorable Mentions
Missty Lechner, Individual Honorable Mention
Highland Community College Wellness Committee, Organizational Honorable Mention

2015 Award Winners
Mim McKenzie, Individual Champion
LiveWell Crawford County, Organizational Champion

2015 Honorable Mentions
Wendy Burton, Individual Honorable Mention
City of Ottawa, Organizational Honorable Mention

Outstanding Service Award
Paula Clayton

2014 Award Winners
Karla Stenzel, Individual Champion
Thrive Allen County, Organizational Champion
Kansas Health Foundation, Partner Champion

2014 Honorable Mentions
Ellen Young, Individual Honorable Mention
Standard Motor Products, Organizational Honorable Mention

2013 Award Winners
Lisa Moritz, Individual Champion
Lawrence Parks and Recreation Department, Organizational Champion

2013 Honorable Mentions
Scott Wadle, Individual Honorable Mention
HaysMed and Garden City Schools Wellness Team USD 457, Organizational Honorable Mention

2012 Award Winners
Rick Werling, Individual Champion
Derby Recreation Commission, Organizational Champion

2012 Honorable Mentions
Michel Loomis, Individual Honorable Mention
Kansas Recreation & Park Association, Organizational Honorable Mention
Ashland Fitness Center, Organizational Honorable Mention

2011 Award Winners
Richard Schodorf, Individual Champion
Fowler Elementary School, Organizational Champion

2010 Award Winners
Joan Bolt, Individual Champion
Frontier El Dorado Refining Company, Organizational Champion


Hometown Health Hero Award

The Hometown Health Hero award was a forerunner of the current Governor's Council on Fitness awards program, the Kansas Health Champion Award. Click here to see hometown health hero winners.


KS Governor's Coucil on Fitness


© Kansas Department of Health & Environment
www.kdheks.gov - Disclaimer - Webmaster